CONNECTING PORTS WORLDWIDE

The digital transformation is opening up new possibilities to ensure Hamburg remains one of the world’s key ports in future, too. With smartPORT projects, the HPA leverages cutting-edge IT solutions to promote the optimisation of the flow of traffic and goods within the port. At the same time, the Port of Hamburg networks with other ports to create a chain of intelligent ports around the world: the chainPORTs.

Initiated by HPA and Port of Los Angeles, chainPORT is a cross-national partnership among the world’s leading ports. By sharing innovations or strategic topics, the members learn from each other and share their best practices. For example, an extensive debate on the impact of the digital revolution on ports is ongoing. Another central theme of the exchange is the efficient use of existing port infrastructure and the related optimization of investment decisions.

Upcoming events

Since the initiative was launched in 2016, an annual general meeting has been held, attended by presidents, CIOs and strategic managers from world leading ports. This year our chainPORT partner, SIPG Shanghai International Port (Group), will host the Annual Meeting in cooperation with the Hamburg Port Authority. During the meeting the results of the different working groups of the initiative will be presented, strategic decisions will be made and the goals for next year will be defined.

The three-day international exchange program based on innovation and digitalization is organized by the Busan Port Authority this year.

Vision

A global network of interconnected logistics hubs which enables maritime stakeholders through innovation and digitalization to achieve secure, efficient and sustainable door-to-door supply chains.

Objectives

  • Reduce fragmentation in the maritime supply chain by increasing interconnectivity
  • Achieve best-in-class cyber resilience standards
  • Actively shape maritime logistics by speaking with one voice towards policy makers and other relevant maritime stakeholders
  • Involve employees and port stakeholders in the digital change process through education, development and involvement

Values

chainPORT strives to have an informed debate on the effects of the digital revolution on the port ecosystem. In so doing, chainPORTs aim to avoid unnecessary future investments in physical assets.

chainPORT promotes digitalization to optimize processes in the port ecosystem and, in so doing, aims at reducing the carbon footprint. chainPORT disseminates technologies which monitor and reduce environmental impact.

Discussing openly and trustfully about challenges and best practices results in win-win situations for all. Confidentiality is maintained wherever chainPORTs consider it essential and reasonable.

With the chainPORT initiative, we at HPA are going beyond the traditional concept of bilateral partnerships. chainPORT aims to bring together port authorities, their partners and customers to share experiences and develop common strategies for present and future issues. In a network that spans the globe, ports should be able to collaborate both on a digital and on an analogue scale. After all, only using intelligent data systems jointly and openly exchanging information and ideas allow sustainable growth to become possible – growth which focuses not only the economy, but also ecology. In this way, chainPORT also opens up new routes towards sustainability.

chainPORT

Harbor trip at Burchardkai

chainPORT

chainPORT WORKING GROUPS

Within the international working groups of chainPORT members, relevant topics are discussed and developed further – through personal meetings as well as via digital communication channels across country borders and continents.

This works as an "umbrella" working group which brings together various themes/projects:

  • Cyber resilience - Increase the security of port authorities to better resist cyber attacks;
  • Connected Ports - Assess the exchange of data between port authorities;
  • Digital Port Twin – Define a common vision between the different ports, the specific objectives and the added value of the connected digital port twins;
  • Hackathon - Development of ideas and solution proposals for predetermined challenges in a creative environment during a three-day event;

Improve the interfaces between the various players in the maritime logistics chain through cooperation and dialogue;​

Exchange of Best Practices on organizational initiatives to foster the digital culture change in port authorities and assessment of each organization's maturity in regard to the digital transformation;​

Continuous development of the competences of the employees in the partner ports and the intensive networking of the participants. The chainPORT Academy is an annual event that serves as a port network for the exchange of information on topics related to digitalization. Consisting of seminar phases, workshop sessions, expert discussions, innovation hubs and port visits, the Academy promotes an intensive dialogue on chainPORT relevant topics. Participants learn about current challenges and best practice examples that move ports worldwide on current topics.​

In 2020, the working group "Shaping the Digital Culture in Port Authorities" published a digital script (interactive "playbook") on the learnings from crisis management during the Covid-19 pandemic. Five chainPORT members shared their digital solutions as best practices in crisis situations.

The aim was to develop a practical approach for port authorities to strategically manage global crisis situations with digital solutions.

chainPORT Digital Playbook

DIE VERNETZUNG INTERNATIONALER HÄFEN

Der digitale Wandel bietet neue Möglichkeiten, dass Hamburg auch in Zukunft zu den Top-Häfen der Welt zählt. Mit smartPORT-Projekten treibt die HPA mithilfe modernster IT-Lösungen die Optimierung der Verkehrs- und Warenflüsse innerhalb des Hafens voran. Gleichzeitig vernetzt sich Hamburg mit weiteren Häfen und bildet so eine weltweite Kette intelligenter Häfen – die chainPORTs.

chainPORT ist eine von der HPA und Los Angeles initiierte, staatenübergreifende Partnerschaft zwischen weltweit führenden Häfen. Im gemeinsamen Austausch zu Innovationen oder strategischen Themen lernen die Mitglieder voneinander und teilen ihre Best-Practices. So wird zum Beispiel fortlaufend eine umfassende Debatte über die Auswirkungen der digitalen Revolution für Häfen geführt. Ein weiteres zentrales Thema des Austausches ist die effiziente Nutzung bestehender (Hafeninfrastruktur und die damit verbundene Optimierung von Investitionsentscheidungen.

Kommende Veranstaltungen

Seit Gründung der Initiative 2016 findet eine jährliche Hauptversammlung (das chainPORT Annual Meeting) statt, an dem Präsidenten, CIOs und Chefstrategen von führenden Häfen der Welt teilnehmen. In diesem Jahr wird unser chainPORT-Partner, der Hafen von Shanghai (SIPG), in Kooperation mit der Hamburg Port Authority die Jahrestagung ausrichten. In dieser Sitzung werden die Ergebnisse der verschiedenen Arbeitsgruppen der Initiative vorgestellt, strategische Entscheidungen getroffen und die Ziele für das nächste Jahr definiert.

Das dreitägige, internationale Austauschprogramm wird dieses Jahr unter dem Motto "Innovation und Digitalisierung" von der Busan Port Authority organisiert

Vision

Ein globales Netzwerk von Logistik-Hubs, welches es den maritimen Akteuren durch Innovation und Digitalisierung ermöglicht, sichere, effiziente und nachhaltige Lieferketten zu gestalten

Ziele

  • Reduzierung der Fragmentierung in der maritimen Lieferkette durch eine erhöhte Vernetzung
  • Das Erreichen von Best-in-Class Cyber-Resilienz-Standards
  • Stärkere Positionierung bei der Gestaltung der maritimen Logistik, indem die chainPORT Häfen mit einer Stimme gegenüber politischen Entscheidungsträgern und anderen relevanten maritimen Akteuren sprechen
  • Einbeziehung von Mitarbeitern und Hafen-Stakeholdern in den digitalen Veränderungsprozess durch Weiterbildung, Entwicklung und Beteiligung
     

Leitlinien

chainPORT strebt eine fundierte Debatte über die Auswirkungen der digitalen Revolution auf das Ökosystem der Häfen an. Auf diese Weise wollen chainPORTs unnötige zukünftige Investitionen in physische Anlagen vermeiden.

chainPORT fördert die Digitalisierung zur Optimierung der Prozesse im Hafenökosystem und zielt damit auf eine Reduzierung des CO2-Fußabdrucks ab. chainPORT befürwortet die Verbreitung von Technologien, die Umweltauswirkungen von Häfen untersuchen und reduzieren.

Ein offener und vertrauensvoller Dialog über Herausforderungen und Best Practices führt zu einer Win-Win-Situation für alle. Vertraulichkeit wird überall dort gewährleistet, wo die chainPORTs dies für notwendig und sinnvoll erachten.

Mit der chainPORT Initiative geht die HPA über das traditionelle Konzept bilateraler Partnerschaften hinaus.  chainPORT möchte Port Authorities, ihre Partner sowie Kunden zusammenbringen, um Erfahrungen zu teilen und gemeinsame Strategien für Fragestellungen der Gegenwart und Zukunft zu entwickeln. Häfen sollen in einem weltumspannenden Netz digital wie analog kooperieren können. Denn nur die gemeinsame Nutzung intelligenter Datensysteme und ein offener Austausch ermöglichen ein nachhaltiges Wachstum, das nicht nur die Ökonomie, sondern auch die Ökologie im Blick hat. So öffnet chainPORT auch neue Wege in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit.

chainPORT

Hafenfahrt am Burchardkai

chainPORT

Die chainPORT Arbeitsgruppen

In internationalen Arbeitsgruppen der chainPORT Mitglieder werden relevante Themen diskutiert und weiterentwickelt – sowohl durch persönliche Treffen als auch mit digitalen Kommunikationsmitteln über Ländergrenzen und Kontinente hinweg.

„Dach“-Arbeitsgruppe, die verschiedene Themen/Projekte zusammenfasst:

  • Cyber Resilienz – Erhöhung der Widerstandsfähigkeit der Port Authorities gegen Cyberangriffe;
  • Connected Ports – Überprüfung des Datenaustauschs zwischen Port Authorities;
  • Digital Port Twin – Festlegung einer gemeinsamen Vision zwischen den verschiedenen Häfen, der spezifischen Ziele und des Mehrwerts der miteinander verbundenen digitalen Hafen-Zwillinge;
  • Hackathon – Entwicklung von Ideen und Lösungsvorschlägen im Rahmen einer dreitägigen Veranstaltung zu vorgegebenen Herausforderungen in kreativer Umgebung;

Verbesserung der Schnittstellen zwischen den verschiedenen Akteuren in der maritimen Logistikkette durch Zusammenarbeit und Dialog;

Austausch zu Best Practices von Organisationsinitiativen zur Förderung des digitalen Kulturwandels in den Port Authorities und Bewertung des Reifegrads jeder Organisation  in Bezug auf die digitale Transformation;

Kontinuierliche Weiterbildung der Kompetenzen der Beschäftigten in den Partnerhäfen und intensive Vernetzung der Teilnehmer. Die chainPORT Akademie, eine jährliche Veranstaltung, dient als Hafennetzwerk zum Austausch von Informationen zu Themen rund um die Digitalisierung. Bestehend aus Seminarphasen, Gruppenarbeiten, Expertengesprächen, Innovationshubs und Hafenbesichtigungen, fördert die Akademie einen intensiven Dialog zu chainPORT-relevanten Themen. Die Teilnehmer lernen Herausforderungen und Best-Practice-Beispiele zu aktuellen Themen kennen, die die Häfen weltweit bewegen.

Bei der Arbeitsgruppe "Shaping the Digital Culture in Port Authorities" wurde im Jahr 2020 ein digitaler Artikel (interaktives "Playbook") über die Learnings aus der Covid-19 Pandemie veröffentlicht. Hier sind die Best Practices von fünf chainPORT Mitglieder zu ihren digitalen Lösungen im Krisenmanagement geteilt.

Ziel war es, ein praktisches Vorgehen für Port Authorities zu entwickeln, um die globalen Krisensituationen strategisch mit digitalen Lösungen zu meistern.

chainPORT Digital Playbook