smart­Port - the in­tel­li­gen­t port

In the port of Ham­burg, state-of-the-art di­gi­ta­l in­tel­li­gence guarantees a smooth, ef­fi­ci­en­t operation. The control ­sys­te­ms used by the HPA are world-leading, while the interaction between sen­sor tech­nology and ana­ly­sis, forecasting and in­for­ma­ti­on ­sys­te­ms delivers huge ef­fici­ency improvements. This is not only good for business, it also protects the environment. The di­gi­tal trend also ensures that we will continue to maintain our leading ­po­si­ti­on in Germany and Eu­ro­pe. Thanks to its smart­PORT phi­lo­so­phy, the Ham­burg Port Aut­ho­ri­ty is achieving sustainable economic growth and maximum benefit for its customers and the people of Ham­burg, while mi­ni­mising its environmental impact. In addition, smart­Port is constantly being developed and adapted.

smart­PORT lo­gis­tics

Thanks to in­tel­li­gen­t solutions for the flow of traffic and goods, the HPA is improving the port's ef­fici­ency. smart­PORT lo­gis­tics combines eco­no­mic and eco­lo­gical as­pec­ts in three sub-sectors: traffic flows, in­fra­structure and the flow of goods. An in­ter­mo­da­l Port­Traf­fic cen­tre for sea, rail and road transport forms the basis for networking the flow of traffic. In­tel­li­gen­t networking is a prerequisite for smooth, ef­fici­en­t transport in the port of Ham­bur­g and ultimately for the flow of goods: op­ti­mum da­ta capture and rapid in­for­ma­ti­on sharing allow lo­gis­tics managers, carriers and agen­ts to select the most efficien­t means of transport for their goods.

smart­PORT en­er­gy

The HPA promotes environmentally-friend­ly mo­bi­li­ty and advocates re­du­ced en­er­gy consumption. smart­PORT en­er­gy therefore helps limit its dependence on con­ven­tio­nally generated power, reduce emis­sio­ns and save money. It focuses on three core areas: re­newable en­er­gi­es, en­er­gy ­ef­fici­ency and mo­bi­li­ty.

Navigation in real-time 

Thou­san­ds of trucks drive through the port of Ham­bur­g every day. To ensure that the traffic flows ef­fici­ently, the HPA combines various services and func­ti­ons. Anyone driving around the port benefits from per­so­na­li­sed navigation. As well as in­for­ma­tio­n about the traffic situation in and around the port, they also have access to parking and in­fra­struc­ture ­in­for­ma­tio­n, closures of the moveable bridges, as well as the latest information on important operations.

Green electricity from the land

Thanks to a landside cruise liner power supply sourced from re­newa­ble en­er­gi­es, we are significantly re­ducing the environmental impact in Ham­burg. These ocean-going giants are supplied with electricity via a transformer ­sta­ti­on and mo­bi­le transfer mechanism at the Al­to­na cruise ship ­ter­mi­nal. The di­men­sio­ns of the land­side power plant are unique in Eu­ro­pe. We are currently considering using similar mo­dels in other areas of the port in future.

In­tel­li­gen­t switching points

Frequently used points on the harbour railway are fitted with sen­so­rs that transmit da­ta to a cen­tra­l IT sys­tem in real-time. They collect a variety of data by moving or passing over the switching points and thereby provide information about the condition and wear of the essential operational intersections. The benefit: we can identify maintenance work or re­pai­rs at an early stage, thereby avoiding downtime.

The mo­bi­le all-purpose sen­sor

Where is the floating crane? Which emergency vehicle is closest to the incident? In order to be able to answer such questions, a mo­bi­le GPS sen­sor is currently being developed, which wirelessly forwards da­ta to the HPA IT sys­tem. As well as in­tel­li­gen­t fleet ­ma­nage­ment, we will also use the sen­sor for other measurements, such as tem­pe­ra­ture, wind ­speed and direction, air pollution and the flow of the Elbe.

Smar­t maintenance

The in­fra­struc­ture in the port of Ham­bur­g is monitored using mobi­le end devices, such as ta­blets or smart­pho­nes. When con­trolling roads, bridges and tracks, these devices au­to­ma­tically send measurements to the downstream IT sys­te­ms, where the da­ta is processed, stored and edited. The aim is to make the maintenance ­proces­ses more ef­fec­ti­ve and ef­fici­en­t and to improve the qua­li­ty of notifications.

Vir­tu­al de­pot

Truck journeys with empty con­tai­ners put an unnecessary strain on the environment. We have therefore developed the so-called vir­tua­l de­pot to optimise the movement of empty con­tai­ners between packing ­companies. The cloud-­ba­sed sys­tem informs participating operators which con­tai­ners are to be delivered back to the de­pot. The packing company then requests these di­rectly. The result: no more unnecessary empty trips to the de­pot.

Port Mo­ni­tor

The control room soft­ware, Port Mo­ni­tor, allows us to keep all the stakeholders in the port of Ham­bur­g up-to-date. A variety of in­for­ma­tio­n is cen­trally gathered and can also be accessed remotely, such as elec­tro­nic cards, vessel ­po­si­tio­ns, water level­ da­ta, berths, current construction sites, planned dives and bridge heights and widths. Important in­for­ma­tio­n is therefore always accessible to all those involved on land and on the water.

e-Mo­bi­li­ty in the port

Elec­tric vehicles are becoming increasingly commonplace in road transport. We are also reviewing ways of extending e-Mo­bi­li­ty to passenger and freight traffic in the harbour area. We are therefore pressing ahead with charging in­fra­struc­ture, in collaboration with the operators of public charging pillars. At the cruise ship ­ter­mi­nal, we plan to use preferential e-Ta­xis. In addition, we are analysing the viability of e-Mo­bi­li­ty for our staff.

Par­king for pro­fessionals

Always knowing where the nearest free parking space is and preferably reserving this – we aim to fulfil this requirement with the smart­PORT lo­gis­tics app for trucks. Its comprehensive parking ­ma­nage­ment guarantees op­ti­mum utilisation of existing and future truck parking spaces within the port. The sys­tem's features include the detection and management of parking spaces­, especially with a view to relieving the pressure in neighbouring city districts.

Re­newa­ble en­er­gi­es

By fo­cusing on in­no­va­ti­ve tech­no­lo­gi­es, the HPA is adopting a pioneering role in Germany on the issue of a turnaround in energy policy. At the centre of this is the ef­fici­en­t use and expansion of the existing networks, and above al­l options for generating re­newa­ble en­er­gi­es. We are currently reviewing wind and so­lar power and even bio­en­er­gy, because after all large quantities of bio­mas­s also accumulate in and around the harbour area.

smartPort - Der intelligente Hafen

Im Hafen Hamburg gewährleistet modernste digitale Intelligenz einen reibungslosen und effizienten Betrieb. Die von der HPA eingesetzten Steuerungssysteme sind weltweit führend, das Zusammenspiel von Sensortechnik, Analyse-, Prognose- und Informationssystemen sorgte für enorme Effizienzsteigerungen. Das ist nicht nur gut fürs Geschäft, es schont auch die Umwelt. Und der Digitaltrend sorgt dafür, dass wir auch in Zukunft unsere Spitzenposition in Deutschland und Europa halten werden. Mit der smartPORT-Philosophie forciert die Hamburg Port Authority nachhaltiges wirtschaftliches Wachstum und den bestmöglichen Nutzen für seine Kunden und die Menschen in Hamburg unter Minimierung der Umwelteinflüsse. Und: smartPort wird ständig weiterentwickelt und angepasst.

smartPORT logistics

Mit intelligenten Lösungen für den Verkehrs- und Warenfluss steigert die HPA die Effizienz des Hafens. smartPORT logistics verbindet ökonomische und ökologische Aspekte in drei Teilbereichen: Verkehrsströme, Infrastruktur und Warenströme. Ein intermodales PortTraffic Center für den Schiffs-, Bahn- und Straßenverkehr bildet die Grundlage, um die Verkehrsströme miteinander zu vernetzen. Eine intelligente Vernetzung ist Voraussetzung für den reibungslosen und effizienten Verkehr im Hamburger Hafen sowie letztendlich auch der Warenströme: Optimale Datenerfassung und ein schneller Informationsaustausch ermöglichen Logistikern, Spediteuren und Agenten, den jeweils effizientesten Verkehrsträger für den Transport zu wählen.

smartPORT energy

Die HPA fördert umweltfreundliche Mobilität und setzt sich für einen reduzierten Energieverbrauch ein. smartPORT energy hilft dabei, die Abhängigkeit von konventionell erzeugter Energie zu reduzieren, Emissionen zu senken und Geld zu sparen. Im Fokus stehen drei Kernbereiche: Erneuerbare Energien, Energieeffizienz und Mobilität.

Die 10 smartPORT Fakten

Navigation in Echtzeit

Tausende Lkw fahren täglich durch den Hamburger Hafen. Damit der Verkehr effizient rollt, verknüpft die HPA verschiedene Dienste und Funktionsangebote. Wer im Hafen unterwegs ist, bekommt sozusagen ein personalisiertes Navi. Neben Informationen zur Verkehrslage in und um den Hafen haben Sie auch Zugriff auf Parkraum- und Infrastrukturinformationen, Sperrzeiten der beweglichen Brücken sowie auf aktuelle Hinweise zu wichtigen Betrieben.

Ökostrom von Land

Mit einer landseitigen Stromversorgung aus erneuerbaren Energien für Kreuzfahrtschiffe reduzieren wir die Umweltbelastung in Hamburg erheblich. Über eine Umformerstation und eine mobile Übergabeeinrichtung am Kreuzfahrtterminal Altona werden die Ozeanriesen mit Elektrizität versorgt. In ihrer Dimensionierung ist die Landstromanlage in Europa einzigartig. Derzeit wird darüber nachgedacht, ähnliche Modelle künftig auch in anderen Hafenabschnitten einzusetzen.

Die intelligente Weiche

Stark frequentierte Weichen der Hafenbahn sind mit Sensoren ausgestattet, die in Echtzeit Daten an ein zentrales IT-System übermitteln. Sie sammeln beim Stellen oder Überfahren der Weiche zahlreiche Informationen und geben uns so Aufschluss über Zustand und Verschleiß der für den Betrieb notwenigen Knotenpunkte. Der Vorteil: Instandhaltungsmaßnahmen oder Reparaturen erkennen wir frühzeitig und können so Ausfallzeiten vermeiden.

Der mobile Allzweck-Sensor

Wo befindet sich ein Schwimmkran? Welches Rettungsfahrzeug hat den kürzesten Weg zum Einsatzort? Um Fragen wie diese beantworten zu können, wird derzeit ein mobiler GPS-Sensor entwickelt, der seine Daten drahtlos an das HPA-IT-System weitergibt. Neben dem intelligenten Fuhrparkmanagement werden wir den Sensor für weitere Messungen nutzen, z. B. zur Messung der Temperatur, Windstärke und -richtung, der Luftverschmutzung sowie der Strömung in der Elbe.

Smarte Instandhaltung

Die Infrastruktur im Hamburger Hafen wird mit mobilen Endgeräten, z. B. mit Tablet-PC oder Smartphones, überprüft. Bei der Kontrolle von Straßen, Brücken und Schienen senden die Geräte Messungen automatisch auf die nachgelagerten IT-Systeme. Dort werden die Daten verarbeitet, gespeichert und aufbereitet. Ziel ist es, die Instandhaltungsprozesse effektiver und effizienter zu gestalten sowie die Qualität der Meldungen zu steigern.

Virtuelles Depot

Lkw-Fahrten mit leeren Containern belasten unnötig die Umwelt. Wir haben deshalb das sogenannte Virtuelle Depot entwickelt, um die Verschiebung leerer Container zwischen den Packbetrieben zu optimieren. Über das cloudbasierte System erkennen Teilnehmende, welche Container zurück zum Depot geliefert werden sollen. Diese fordert der Packbetrieb dann direkt an. Das Ergebnis: Die unnütze Leerfahrt zum Depot entfällt.

Port Monitor

Mit der Leitstand-Software Port Monitor halten wir alle Akteure im Hamburger Hafen immer auf dem neusten Stand. Verschiedene Informationen wie elektronische Karten, Schiffspositionen, Pegeldaten, Liegeplätze, aktuelle Baustellen, geplante Tauchgänge oder Brückenhöhen und -breiten werden zentral gesammelt und können auch mobil abgerufen werden. Wichtige Informationen sind so für alle Beteiligten an Land und auf dem Wasser jederzeit abrufbar.

e-Mobilität im Hafen

Im Straßenverkehr setzen sich Elektrofahrzeuge zunehmend durch. Auch wir prüfen Ansätze, um die e-Mobilität im Personen- und Lastverkehr auf dem Hafengebiet auszudehnen. So wird die Ladeinfrastruktur in Kooperation mit Betreibern öffentlicher Stromsäulen forciert. An den Kreuzfahrtterminals ist der Einsatz von bevorrechtigten e-Taxis geplant. Darüber hinaus wird die Wirtschaftlichkeit von e-Mobilität für Angestellte analysiert.

Parken für Profis

Immer wissen, wo der nächste freie Parkplatz ist, und diesen am besten gleich reservieren – diesen Wunsch wollen wir mit der smartPORT logistics-App im Lkw-Bereich erfüllbar machen. Das umfassende Parkraummanagement gewährleistet eine optimale Auslastung vorhandener und neu zu errichtender Lkw-Stellplätze im Hafen. Bestandteile des Systems sind u. a. die Stellplatzdetektion und -verwaltung, auch um angrenzende Stadtgebiete zu entlasten.

Erneuerbare Energien

Mit dem Fokus auf innovative Technologien übernimmt die HPA beim Thema Energiewende eine Vorreiterrolle in Deutschland. Im Mittelpunkt stehen bei uns die effiziente Nutzung und der Ausbau der vorhandenen Netze, vor allem aber die Möglichkeiten zur Gewinnung erneuerbarer Energien. Hier prüfen wir aktuell Wind-, Solar- und sogar Bioenergie, denn schließlich fallen auch im und um das Hafengebiet große Mengen Biomasse an.