Connecting ports worldwide

The digital change offers new possibilites for HPA to remain one of the leading ports in the world. With our smartPORT projects we are pushing the optimization of the flows of traffic and goods through IT solutions ahead. At the same time the Port of Hamburg is connecting with other ports worldwide to build a chain of intelligent ports - chainPORTs.   

chainPORT is a multilateral partnership of the world leading ports. Members are committed to the exchange of knowledge, innovation and to the promotion of strategic topics.  chainPORT’s aim is to have an informed debate on the effects of the digital revolution on scale and, in so doing, avoid unnecessary future investments in physical assets.

Our drive

With the chainPORT initiative we go beyond the traditional concept of bilateral partnerships. We want to connect port management with their partners and customers to share experiences and to develop strategies. Ports are supposed to be cooperating digitally and analog within a global network. Because only the mutual use of intelligent data systems as well as an open exchange enable a lasting growth which doesn't only focus on economy but also on ecology. 

The chainPORT hackathon

For the first time the chainPORT hackathon is going to be held in Antwerp (Oct. 11th - 13th 2018) and in Los Angeles (Oct. 12th - 13th 2018). There are going to be challenges to be solved together. These concern tasks of the fields Mo­bi­li­ty, In­ter Port, Safe­ty & Se­cu­ri­ty, Pro­cess & Do­cu­ment Flow, Sustaina­bi­li­ty and Edu­ca­ti­on through Ga­mi­fi­ca­ti­on. At the end of the event the winners are going to be awarded. For more information click here.

International key working groups

In international key working groups relevant topics are discussed and developed. The chainPORT members communicate in personal meetings as well as through digital means of communication transcending national borders and continents.

The key issue is the information technology. Another important topic is the handling of growing container ships - a challenge any port has to surmount. Furthermore, cruise calls are meant to be more efficient and asier to plan by improving the connection and data exchange between ports. Another necessary subject to discuss: ecology. By e.g. exchanging knowledge about emission reduction, the chainPORTs take important steps in terms of sustainability. For the chainPORT initiative the IT infrastructure within each organization is also essential. Therefore, port authorities are working together towards the goal of the realization of the digital change.

The members

The initiative is led by the Port Authorities of Hamburg and Los Angeles in collaboration with the Global Institute of Logistics supported by the ports of Busan, Shenzhen, Singapore, Antwerp, Rotterdam, Montreal, Indonesia, Shanghai, Felixstowe and Panama.

The partnership is driven by several key working groups reporting to a Steering Committee comprising the CEO’s and Presidents from the member ports. The working groups focus on a range of subjects including smart IT solutions, the implications and solutions for ultra large container vessels and shaping digital change in port authorities.  chainPORT partners believe that the participation in the digital revolution requires ongoing education of port management on this rapidly evolving and game changing development. In line with this idea, chainPORTs developed and implemented an expert training and education Academy. The Academy offers employees of participating ports access to continuing professional education and gives them access to a multidisciplinary network of professionals.

chainPORT partners are committed to leveraging the latest developments in technology to realize their vision of a smart, interconnected and digital world port system.

DIE VERNETZUNG VON INTERNATIONALEN HÄFEN

Der di­gi­ta­le Wan­del bie­tet der HPA neue Mög­lich­kei­ten, da­mit Ham­burg auch in Zu­kunft zu den Top-Hä­fen der Welt zählt. Mit un­se­ren smart­PORT-Pro­jek­ten treiben wir an­hand mo­derns­ter IT-Lö­sun­gen Op­ti­mie­run­gen für die Ver­kehrs- und Wa­ren­flüs­se in­ner­halb des Ha­fens voran. Gleich­zei­tig ver­netzt sich der Ha­fen Ham­burg mit wei­te­ren Hä­fen und bil­det so eine Ket­te in­tel­li­gen­ter Hä­fen welt­weit – die chain­PORTS.

chain­PORT ist eine von der HPA initiierte staa­ten­über­grei­fen­de Part­ner­schaft zwi­schen welt­weit füh­ren­den Hä­fen. Die Mit­glie­der tau­schen sich über Wis­sen, In­no­va­tio­nen und die För­de­rung stra­te­gi­scher The­men aus. Das Ziel ist, von­ein­an­der zu ler­nen und In­no­va­tio­nen zu schaf­fen. Es wird eine um­fas­sen­de und fun­dier­te De­bat­te über die Ef­fek­te der di­gi­ta­len Re­vo­lu­ti­on und, durch die effizientere Nutzung bestehender Infrastruktur, die Ver­mei­dung un­nö­ti­ger Zu­kunfts­in­ves­ti­tio­nen an­ge­strebt

UNSER ANTRIEB

Mit der chainPORT Initiative gehen wir von der HPA über das traditionelle Konzept bilateraler Partnerschaften hinaus. Wir wollen Hafenmanagements und ihre Partner sowie Kunden zusammenbringen, um Erfahrungen zu teilen und Strategien zu entwickeln. Häfen sollen in einem weltumspannenden Netz digital wie analog kooperieren können. Denn nur die gemeinsame Nutzung intelligenter Datensysteme und ein offener Austausch ermöglichen ein nachhaltiges Wachstum, das nicht nur die Ökonomie, sondern auch die Ökologie im Blick hat. So öffnet chainPORT auch neue Wege in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit.

Der chainPORT Hackathon

Erstmals werden im Oktober sowohl in Antwerpen (11.-13.10.2018) als auch in Los Angeles (12.-13.10.2018) die chainPORT hackathons durchgeführt. Gemeinsam werden verschiedene Challenges aus den Bereichen Mobility, Inter Port, Safety & Security, Process & Document Flow, Sustainability und Education through Gamification bewältigt um am Ende die Sieger zu küren. Mehr Informationen finden Sie hier.

INTERNATIONALE ARBEITSGRUPPEN

In in­ter­na­tio­na­len Ar­beits­grup­pen der chain­PORT Mit­glie­der wer­den die re­le­van­ten The­men dis­ku­tiert und wei­ter­ent­wi­ckelt – so­wohl durch per­sön­li­che Tref­fen als auch mit di­gi­ta­len Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­mit­teln über Län­der­gren­zen und Kon­ti­nen­te hin­weg.

Thematischer Dreh- und Angelpunkt ist die Informationstechnologie. Ein weiteres bedeutendes Thema ist der Umgang mit immer größer werdenden Containerschiffen – eine Herausforderung, die alle Häfen meistern müssen. Zudem sollen Vernetzung und Datenaustausch Schiffsanläufe effizienter und planbarer machen. Auch von hohem Stellenwert: die Ökologie. Indem sie beispielsweise über Emissionsreduzierung Wissen austauschen gehen die chainPORTs neue Wege in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit. Besonders wichtig bei der chainPORT Initiative ist auch die Frage der IT-Infrastruktur innerhalb der eigenen Organisation: vor diesem Hintergrund befassen sich die kooperierenden Port Authorities auch damit, wie sie selbst innerhalb ihrer Organisationen den digitalen Wandel praktisch umsetzen werden.

DIE MITGLIEDER

An­ge­führt wir die Chain­PORT In­itia­ti­ve von den Häfen von Ham­burg und Los An­ge­les in enger Zu­sam­men­ar­beit mit den Partnerhäfen von Busan, Barcelona, Shen­zhen, Sin­ga­pur, Ant­wer­pen, Rot­ter­dam, Mon­tre­al, In­do­ne­si­en, Shang­hai, Fe­lix­s­to­we, Pa­na­ma sowie der Glo­bal In­sti­tu­te of Lo­gis­tics.


Die HPA auf Instagram

::before
::before
::before
::before
::before
::before